Danny Dominates Again

Danny Dominates Again

Super One Series Round 3

Rowrah – April 23rd 2017

The Super One Series returned to Rowrah for the second time this year after the track stepped in to run Round 3, originally scheduled for Buckmore Park which didn’t have the paddock capacity for a meeting of this size. The weather was better this time though, 10℃ but dry.

The whole paddock came together in support of the injured F4 driver Billy Monger, a stalwart of the Super One Series for several years. £5000 was raised by the drivers and teams including significant donations from Cumbria Kart Club and Super One, and the #BillyWhizz stickers were ubiquitous.

Koden helmets is supporting Super One with a carbon fibre helmet for the winners and an extra prize for the most podiums, as well as the Koden Academy which awards drivers wearing Koden helmets £100, £75 or £50 for podium positions. Sebastian Bloch in Honda Cadet benefited from this at Rowrah.

MSA X30 Senior National Championship

Although Brett Ward and Elliot Harvey beat him in Qualifying, Danny Keirle completed a clean sheet during the racing, winning both his heats and both his Finals. The other heat winners were Joe Turney and Thomas Turner.

The first Final saw quite a struggle for the win between Keirle, Turney and Turner, with Turney crossing the line 2nd but demoted for a bumper penalty. Turner was promoted to 2nd and Ward 3rd.

In Final 2 Keirle was a clearer winner, gradually pulling away from 2nd place which was fought over by Ward and Derek Morgan, with Turner overtaking Morgan on the last lap.

Keirle finished the weekend 23 points ahead of Ward in the Championship.

X30 Senior

Final 1 (17 laps): 1 Danny Keirle (Fullerton), 2 Thomas Turner (Tony Kart), 3 Brett Ward (Alonso), 4 Levi King (Tony Kart), 5 Derek Morgan (Gillard), 6 Josh Skelton (Tony Kart)
Final 2 (17 laps): 1 Keirle, 2 Ward, 3 Turner, 4 Morgan, 5 Archie Tillett (Fullerton), 6 Gus Lawrence (Tony Kart)

Championship Standings

1 Danny Keirle 391
2 Thomas Turner 368
3 Brett Ward 343
4 Josh Skelton 338
5 Elliot Harvey 329
6 James Johnson 328